#9 The Young Elites

Image result for when was the young elites written

The Young Elites is written by Marie Lu. The series continues with The Rose Society and The Midnight Star. Also, she wrote the Legend series. This book takes place in medieval times, a decade after a great plague swept through the country. It was written in 2015. People who are infected with the fever are scarred with ugly marks and they are also stronger and with abilities that don’t belong in this world. All the parents who got the fever died, so only the young survive and are marked in this way. They will be known as the Young Elites.

There are five main characters, all of whom have been infected and survived. They are Enzo, Teren, Raffaele, Violetta, and Adelina. Adelina is mistreated by her father while her sister is pampered. Enzo is the crown prince, but is scorned by all, though he does have power: he can control fire at will. He starts the Dagger society which wants to overthrow the king and give Enzo his rightful position. Teren is the leader of the police team that is charged with stopping all riots, robberies, and other rubbish, and mainly with finding people with the strange abilities they received after the fever. He is not a regular police officer; he is known as the leader of the force called the Inquisition. He serves only the queen and she causes him to do some grown-up-ish things. Teren’s power is to heal any wound instantly. He was a friend of Enzo’s, back when they both were children. Raffaele is a kindhearted consort (he may seem to like that job but he doesn’t really) who can see the strings of power in everything. He uses this ability to manipulate people, and as a consort this helps him make others fall for him. Violetta is Adelina’s younger sister. She may have no marks, but she is possibly the most powerful of all the elites. She can take away any other elite’s power which leaves them weaker than they should ever be.

The story starts with Adelina in jail – where she waits to be given an execution day and where she recites the story of how she kills her father by using her power of illusion to scare him so that he is then trampled to death by his horse. There is, in short, a lot going on. Right before she gets burned to death, she is rescued by Enzo who has a quick fight with Teren before disappearing with Adelina. Then Adelina starts to try and join up with the rest of the Dagger society, a group that aims is to overthrow the king. She starts to grow accustomed to a Dagger’s life style and is growing more powerful with her abilities, but Teren appears at one point and turns her into a spy to keep her sister safe. Adelina’s powers are dangerous, and when she realizes this she makes a fellow Dagger who always hated her imagine so much pain that it becomes real. When she steals her sister away from Teren she ends up starting a final confrontation that will either end with Teren’s or Enzo’s  death.

You will have to read the book to find out what happens. There are some surprises. Ordinarily, in a multi-book series, the first volume is about the band getting together, but in this one, the band falls apart. Adelina, for example, falls away from the rest of the Daggers, except her sister.

I would recommend this book to anyone who loved the Legend series because this book series will not let you down. I thought that this book was a little dark and stormy, but who doesn’t like dark and stormy in a book?


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s